The Winemakers International Hall of Fame (WIHOF) announced that seven winemakers have been elected to its first class of inductees – the "Class of 2012: Wine Legends of the Late 20th Century."  

The founding class is a stellar one: Piero Antinori, Angelo Gaja, Marcel Guigal, Christian Moueix, Miguel Torres, and the late Henri Jayer and Robert Mondavi.  

"I think that our advisory board members, who nominated and elected this first class, have truly selected the Magnificent Seven of winemaking," says Roger Morris, WIHOF managing director. "We wanted the first class to be a memorable one – the winemakers who led the way during the late 20th century when the greatest strides in vineyard management, wine production, wine quality improvement, and fine wine consumption in history took place."           

Formal induction ceremonies will be held at a gala winemakers' dinner on Feb. 25, 2012, as part of the MidAtlantic Food + Wine Feast at the Hotel duPont in Wilmington, Delaware.          

Beverage, Industry News