The Specialty Food Association established a Hall of Fame to honor individuals who have played significant roles in creating and shaping the $88.3 billion specialty food industry.

The inaugural inductees include 114 individuals who helped establish the specialty food industry in the 1950s, 1960s, and 1970s, as well as pioneers in specialty food retailing, tastemakers, and culinary innovators who are continuing to change tastes today. 

“The specialty food industry is built on the creativity and passion of individuals who have worked hard to bring top-quality food and new flavors to market. We are proud to recognize these pioneers,” says Specialty Food Association president Ann Daw.

Inductees include Chuck Williams, Williams-Sonoma; David Bigelow and Eunice Bigelow, Bigelow Tea; Julee Rosso, Silver Palate; and Jerry Kehe and Joe Shannon, KeHE Foods.  The inaugural class was selected by Association members and members of the Hall of Fame Committee.

The inductees will be celebrated on Jan. 11 at the Winter Fancy Food Show in San Francisco as part of a special event that also includes the Association’s Leadership Awards and a keynote address by Seth Goldman, co-founder and CEO of Honest Tea.

Industry News, NextGen Casual