The Chicago Culinary Museum and Chefs Hall of Fame announced their 11th event featuring the induction of Chef Fabio Viviani as Chef of the Year, Chef Sébastien Canonne as Pastry Chef of the Year, Chef Pierre Pollin as Legendary Chef, Jim Kallas asIndustry Leader, and Charlie Mok as Industry Legend into the Chefs Hall of Fame for 2017.

These five industry innovators, who all have a strong connection with Chicago’s culinary world, will be formally inducted at an event open to the public which will serve as a gala fundraiser for the Chicago Culinary Museum. The 2017 Chefs Hall of Fame Culinary Experience will take place at Crystal Gardens in Navy Pier located at 700 E. Grand in Chicago from 5 to 9:30 p.m. on March 8.

This event will not only honor the inductees, it will also promote and celebrate Chicago’s culinary preeminence and raise funds for the Chicago Culinary Museum while awarding scholarships to student chefs. The evening will feature an open bar, wandering feast prepared by top local restaurants, current and past chef inductees, silent auction, raffle, and awards presentation. Tickets are now on sale for $75 per person in advance or $95 at the door, if available.

Previous inductees into the Chefs Hall of Fame include the late Chef Charlie Trotter in 2006, Chef Jimmy Bannos in 2007, Chef Rick Bayless in 2008,Chef Carrie Nahabedian in 2009, Chef Art Smith in 2010, Chef Priscilla Satkoff in 2011, Chef Graham Elliot with Chef Jacquy Pfeiffer in 2012,Chef Paul Kahan, Chef Alain Roby, Richard Melman, Chef Hans Aeschbacher, the late Chef Jean Banchet, and the late Chef Louis Szathmary in 2013, Chef Stephanie Izard, Chef Gale Gand, Chef Michael Kornick, Phil Stefani, and Larry Levy in 2014, and Chef Tony Mantuano, Chef Judy Contino, Chef J. Joho, Georges “Kiki” Cuisance, Steve Lombardo and Hugo Ralli in 2015.

Chef Profiles, Industry News