WFF Award Winners Announced at Annual Conference

Women’s Foodservice Forum (WFF) presented Daymon Worldwide President and CEO, Carla Cooper, with the 2013 Trailblazer Award during the opening general session of their annual conference. Cooper has dedicated her career to blazing trails and creating pathways for herself and other women within the foodservice industry. She has a reputation for being a servant leader, always bringing others along with her and keeping her door open. The WFF Trailblazer Award is given each year to an individual, female or male, who shows dedication to improving the foodservice industry through their support of gender diversity.

Cooper’s commitment to serving others is displayed through various roles on boards and volunteer positions. She served as WFF chair for more than three years and has continued to give back to the WFF throughout her career. Cooper also serves on the board of directors of the Food Marketing Institute and the Culinary Institute of America (CIA). She co-founded the Women in Leadership network group at the CIA where she mentors aspiring women leaders. Prior to joining Daymon, Cooper was senior vice president, Quaker, Tropicana, and Gatorade Sales for PepsiCo, Inc. Her 28-plus years in the consumer packaged goods industry also include leadership positions with such iconic global brands as Coca-Cola, Procter and Gamble, and Kellogg.

Women’s Foodservice Forum (WFF) presented the much anticipated 2013 SOAR Award to Kellogg Company during the second day of their Annual Leadership Development Conference. The Jackie B. Trujillo SOAR Award is presented annually to recognize an outstanding organization that is a proven Standard-Setter for Opportunity, Advancement and Recognition for women within their organization. Kellogg Company is now the seventh organization in the foodservice industry to receive this coveted award.

Kellogg Company’s Diversity & Inclusion teams and Employee Resource Groups have helped take the organization's diversity efforts to a higher level. Kellogg is committed to providing development opportunities aimed at preparing women for top leadership positions across the company, and building a pipeline of multicultural talent that mirrors the diversity of its consumers.

“We recognize we will succeed in an increasingly competitive global marketplace when we retain the best talent, and when our employees reflect the diversity of our consumers,” says Brad Davidson, president, Kellogg North America.

Women’s Foodservice Forum (WFF) also presented Georgia-Pacific EVP Consumer Products Kathy Walters with its 2013 Leadership Award. As a senior executive leading the Georgia-Pacific Consumer Products Group, Walters oversees the largest retail and commercial tissue and tabletop businesses in North America spanning more than 70 locations and 13,000 employees. Walters advances the culture of her organization through the company’s Market Based Management Guiding Principles, appreciating the value of diversity and encouraging and practicing teamwork. She is actively involved in succession planning across each of the businesses under her leadership and ensures women and minorities are provided opportunities across Georgia-Pacific. Each year WFF Leadership Award is given to a female executive in the foodservice industry who shows exceptional leadership qualities within her company and the industry at large and whose professional growth and achievements are recognized through career advancement.

Women’s Foodservice Forum (WFF) presented HAVI Global Solutions Senior Director Kirsten Michulka with the 2013 Phyllis S. Sewell Scholarship. This award is presented each year to an aspiring female leader from any discipline within the foodservice industry who is enthusiastic about further developing her business and leadership skills. Michulka received a $15,000 grant to attend the WFF Executive Leadership Program fueled by Northwestern University's Kellogg School of Management.

The Sewell Scholarship is one of two scholarships that WFF awards each year to support the future development and success of rising industry stars. These awards recognize high-potential leaders throughout the industry for their hard work and dedication. The Sewell Scholarship is sponsored by Sysco, an active partner company of WFF and an ardent supporter of high-level, content-based leadership development.


News and information presented in this release has not been corroborated by WTWH Media LLC.