Here are the Winners of the New York City Hospitality Alliance Awards

Last night, the New York City Hospitality Alliance, a membership-based association founded in 2012 that aims to foster the growth and vitality of the hospitality industry, hosted its second annual awards ceremony at TAO Downtown in Manhattan’s Meatpacking District. The event honored the restaurants, bars, nightlife establishments, and professionals throughout the five boroughs that have made an impact on the city’s booming hospitality industry. 

“Whether people are just starting out [in the hospitality industry], or are the owners of iconic dining institutions—we’re a connected community,” says Andrew Rigie, the Executive Director of the New York City Hospitality Alliance. “It’s important that we join together to recognize and applaud our colleagues’ accomplishments, contributions and hard work that keeps New York City the hospitality capital of the world.”

Award winners were determined by the majority vote of ‘Nomination Committee’ members after a review and deliberation process, and were announced yesterday at the ceremony. Appointed by Rigie, the ‘Nomination Committee’ represents a wide-range of hospitality professionals with a wealth of knowledge and experience in New York City’s hospitality industry.

“It’s always amazing to see our industry come together in celebration of one another,” says Paul Seres, the Chair of the New York City Hospitality Alliance Awards Committee. “It was a night to remember.”

Award categories and winners include:

Philanthropy Served Here Award—Goes to a charitable organization whose work helps to make the neighborhoods of NYC a more hospitable place—with a focus on working with the restaurant and hospitality industry.

Honoree: City Harvest

The Next Generation Award presented by TouchBistro—Goes to an up-and-coming or established mover and shaker who is still early in their hospitality industry career

Winner: Michael Stillman (Quality Branded)

Nominees: August Cardona (Epicurean Group); Michael Stillman (Quality Branded); Brice Jones (Freehold Brooklyn)

The Determination Award—Goes to an individual who started at an entry-level job in the hospitality industry and is now in a leadership role

Winner: Pierre Siue (DANIEL)

Nominees: Brandon Fay; Carlos Lazo; Pierre Siue

Hearts of Hospitality Award presented by Fox Rothschild LLP—Goes to an individual who is recognized for excellence in the profession of human resources in hospitality

Winner: Kelly Perkins (NoHo Hospitality)

Nominees: Jackie McMann-Oliveri (Bold Food); Kelly Perkins (NoHo Hospitality); Maren Calloway (Quality Branded)

I Love Boroughs—Goes to a favorite restaurant in each borough as chosen by hospitality industry professionals

I Love Brooklyn Award

Winner: Roberta’s

Nominees: Junior's on Flatbush; Lilia; Roberta's

I Love Bronx Award

Winner: Dominick’s

Nominees: Dominick's; Zero Otto Nove; The Original Crab Shanty

I Love Manhattan Award presented by Imperial Bag & Paper

Winner: Gotham Bar & Grill

Nominees: Gotham Bar & Grill; The Nomad; Rao's

I Love Queens Award

Winner: Bohemian Beer Hall & Garden

Nominees: Bohemian Beer Hall & Garden; Mu Ramen; Trattoria l'incontro

I Love Staten Island

Winner: Mario’s

Nominees: Bocelli; Enoteca Maria; Mario's

True Taste of NYC Award—Goes to an iconic dish served at an iconic NYC restaurant

Winners: Katz's Delicatessen (Pastrami Sandwich)

Nominees: Katz's Delicatessen (Pastrami Sandwich); Nobu (Miso Black Cod), Sylvia's (Fried Chicken)

City That Never Sleeps Award—Goes to the important and/or influential club and/or operator

Winner: The Box

Nominees: House of Yes; La Marina; The Box

Raising The Bar Award—Goes to the important and/or influential bar and/or owner

Winner: Jimmy's No. 43

Nominees: Jimmy’s No. 43; Pegu Club; The Dead Rabbit

Back Of House Award presented by United Airlines—Goes to a person who has achieved respect and excellence working in one or more jobs in a restaurant kitchen

Winner: Bill Telepan

Nominees: April Bloomfield; Bill Telepan; Missy Robbins

Front Of House Award—Goes to a person who has achieved respect and excellence working in one or more jobs on the dining room floor of a restaurant

Winner: Katie Bell (Agern)

Nominees: Chrissa Yee (Loring Place); Danny Collins (Smith & Wollensky); Katie Bell (Agern)

Operations Award—Goes to a person who has achieved respect and excellence working in one or more operation level jobs for a single unit or restaurant group

Winner: Bill Bonbrest (TAO Group)

Nominees: Bill Bonbrest (TAO Group); Jennifer Kay (NYC Best Bars); Sam Goldfinger (The ONE Group)

#HospitalityGuruAward—Goes to the restaurant (or chef/restaurateur) with the best food Social Media presence – makes you drool, laugh and captures your attention

Winner: By Chloe

Nominees: Barbuto; By Chloe; Sugar Factory

Hospitality Technology Award—Goes to a technology platform enhancing the way the hospitality industry operates

Winner: SevenRooms

Nominees: SendaGuy Now; SevenRooms; xtraChef

read more

News and information presented in this release has not been corroborated by WTWH Media LLC.