Cooper's Hawk Selects 2020 Black American Wine Professional Scholars

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurants, a lifestyle brand centered around food and wine, has selected their 2020 Black American wine professional scholars. Ten outstanding recipients, chosen by The Somm Foundation, will be awarded with $1000 to assist them on their wine education journey. Each recipient was chosen based on merit and need.

Funded by Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurants, the scholarship program enables Black Americans an opportunity to further their education in wine, despite their current level. Currently in the United States, there are 140 Master Sommeliers and only three of them are African American. Cooper's Hawk created these scholarships as a way to create the change they want to see in a stereotypically white industry. Their hope is that by creating more diversity in the industry, there will be more business opportunities available to those interested in pursuing wine as a career.

Tim McEnery, Founder and CEO of Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurants says, "We are excited for the ten scholars and how they may help shape the wine industry. At Cooper's Hawk we are passionate about community, which includes not only our guests and wine club members but also the wine industry at large. We see the need for more diversity in the wine business and this will provide financial support and mentorship to those passionate about wine."

In addition to the monetary award, Emily Wines, Cooper's Hawk Master Sommelier and Chair of the Board of the Master Court of Sommeliers has offered ongoing support and mentorship to each scholar. Cooper's Hawk will announce another round of scholarships through the Somm Foundation in the Spring.

Winner List:

  • Kimberlyn Stuckey, TN
  • Miles Alexander, CA
  • William Bedsaul, VA,
  • Ini Gabriel Uko, NY
  • Dekeishia Porter, TX
  • Tatiana Beatty, MD
  • LeVar Williams, TX
  • Katrina Merrit, IL
  • Jessica Jolly, FL
  • Benita Johnson, VA.

News and information presented in this release has not been corroborated by WTWH Media LLC.